Some reviews (May 2016 to February 2020) ... many more on Tours By Locals and TripAdvisor Experiences   

 

         

        Tours  By   locals                         

 

 

 Trip Advisor Experiences

 

 

 

 

 

ANNA SUKHOMLINA

 United Kingdom
RATING 
 

TOUR: #608965, Private Half-Day tour of Rouen, from Rouen Jan 16th Anna Sukhomlina 3hr, Rouen, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Jan 16/20

Igor was amasing. His organisation skills are outstanding: he came to meet with me on time, was very welcoming and planned our 3-hours journey in advance. Igor knew a lot about history, culture, historical facts and famous people. A walk with him was nice and relaxed, but at the same time he was showing a lot of different building and sharing interesting facts. I would recommend Igor to anyone who woudl like to have a quality time in Rouen. thank you.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Ms Sukhomlina, It was a real pleasure to be your guide today in Rouen. I wish you a very pleasant day tomorrow at your office near Rouen. Best regards.

MICHELLE BARTLOW

 Fort Worth, TX, United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237498, Private Tour of the D-Day Beaches from Caen/ Bayeux, Caen, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Nov 10/19

Igor is extremely professional and very knowledgeable regarding WWII history. He arranged a customized tour to the places where my ancestor was during WWII. This tour was so meaningful because Igor took the time out of his busy schedule to research the specific areas where my ancestor was during WWII in order to take me there on his tour. I will never forget this incredible experience. Words cannot express enough my gratitude for the time and effort it took Igor to orchestrate this customized tour.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Ms Bartlow, It was also a very special moment for me to be with you on your uncle's grave. A moment I have prepared since a very long time. I wish you a wonderful winter and Christmas time. All the best.

JEFF ADAMS

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237499, Bayeux Tapestry and D-day Beaches from Bayeux- Honfleur, Bayeux, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Nov 9/19

Igor was great and extremely knowledgeable. Even though the weather didn't cooperate in the afternoon, he was willing to do whatever we were willing to do. Highly recommend.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Mr Adams for this very kind comment. Yes, you were really brave with this weather. Have fun tomorrow in Rouen.

JIM PLOU

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #268851, Private Tour of St Malo , Dinan, Cancale , Cap Fréhel, Fort Lalatte in Brittany from Rennes or Saint Malo, Saint-Malo, France    view tour
DATE: Nov 8/19

Toured St. Malo, Donan and a few other sites on the way, Very knowledgable and speaks very good English. Highly recommend.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for this very kind review Mr Plou. It was a pleasure to be your guide on these two days. Have a wonderful winter and very warm Christmas time. All the best.

JIM PLOU

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237498, Private Tour of the D-Day Beaches from Caen/ Bayeux, Bayeux, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Nov 6/19

Extremely knowledgable about d-day. Very good English. Good personality. Be prepared to walk. Highly recommend.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for this very kind review Mr Plou. It was a pleasure to be your guide on these two days. Have a wonderful winter and very warm Christmas time. All the best.

JOSEPH SELVIDIO

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237498, 2 days in Normandy WWII Tour from PARIS October 15th & 16th 2019 Joseph Selvidio 6 PAX, Paris, Île-de-France, France    view tour
DATE: Oct 15/19

Igor is a fantastic guide! I brought a small group of family and friends to Normandy to visit the WWII beaches. Igor was our guide and did a terrific job. He's knowledgeable, friendly, responsive and organized. He arranged our transport from Paris and back. He made helpful food and lodging recommendations. He incorporated documentaries, movies and music into our tour. The trip wouldn't have been the same without his expertise!

HERBERT BATCHELDER

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #288703, 3 Day Tour - Giverny - Normandy & Bayeux Tapestry - Mont St Michel- Transfer Amboise Sept 30th Oct 3rd 2019 2PAX M J. Gregory, Paris, Île-de-France, France    view tour
DATE: Sep 30/19

We visited Monet's gardens, Mont St Michel, Normandy 's landing beaches and U.S. cemetery with Igor. I found him quite knowledgeable about all the sites and appreciated his insights. He was also very attentive to our physical limitations (walking/standing).

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Mr Batchelder, It was a real pleasure to be your guide on these three days in Normandy. I wish you a great time back home. All the best.

CATHY GALE

 Spain
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237498, Private Tour of the D-Day Beaches from Caen/ Bayeux, Bayeux, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Sep 28/19

Igor was very knowledgeable, he gave us so much information every place we visited. Anything we asked he answered, what a memory. We also enjoyed lunch at one of the beaches. We would highly recommend him, he is an excellent guide.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Ms Gale, I wish you a very nice and white winter. ;o)

SUSAN JACOLI

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237364, Private Tour of the D-day beaches from Cherbourg US Sites, Cherbourg, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Sep 25/19

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hello Ms Jacoli, It was really a pleasure to be your guide for this rainy day in Normandy. I wish you a wonderful winter.

LORRAINE W.

 Australia
RATING 
 

TOUR: Visit Mt St Michel and St-Malo from Rennes with a driver-guide, Rennes, France
DATE: Sep 15/19

We had a wonderful day with Igor at Mont Saint Michel and St Malo. His excellent knowledge of history and his enthusiasm for both places added so much to our understanding and appreciation of these magnificent sites.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Ms Whiteley, It was a real pleasure to be your guide today. You were a wonderful couple to guide. Have a great time in Paris. Best regards.

DIANE CALDER

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237498, Private Tour of the D-Day Beaches from Caen/ Bayeux, Bayeux, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Sep 12/19

Igor was fabulous.....exceeded all our expectations. He is knowledgeable, passionate and very personable. We can't imagine anyone better to share the D Day tour with us. We feel very fortunate to have had such a memorable experience because of him. Thank you again Igor! We like to travel and have an upcoming Christmas to Florence and will definitely use Tours by Locals.

PATRICIA S ROMANO

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237532, Private Tour of the Mont Saint Michel, & Cancale from Saint Malo Sept 11th 2019 P. Romano 5PAX, St-Malo, Brittany, France    view tour
DATE: Sep 11/19

See our rating for Normandy. This was our 2nd day with Igor. Yesterday it felt like we were traveling with a friend, today it felt like Igor was family. And once again took us around as though he was taking us to his favorite spots. Igor was untiring in making certain we got to see and do everything we wanted to. So thrilled we had the opportunity to spend two days together. Igor, thanks.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Ms Romano, It was truly a very good time to with you and your friends on these two days in Normandy and Brittany. Enjoy the salted butter, and the good wines in Bordeaux.

PATRICIA S ROMANO

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237499, Bayeux Tapestry and D-day Beaches from Honfleur September 10th 2019 P. Romano 5PAX, Bayeux, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Sep 10/19

This may have been the best private tour we have ever taken. Igor felt like a friend who was showing us his favorite spots. We loved the use of "mixed media", movies, newscasts, speeches. We enjoyed the 40's music played in the vehicle. We loved it all. And we had another day in St Malo with Igor. Thanks!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Ms Romano, It was truly a very good time to with you and your friends on these two days in Normandy and Brittany. Enjoy the salted butter, and the good wines in Bordeaux.

CHARLES WAGNER

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #322588, Private Tour : D-Day Beaches from Le Havre US Sites, Le Havre, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Aug 28/19

Igor was an incredible tour guide. He tied our tour into the movie "The Longest Day." Great tour for history buffs.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Mr Wagner for this very kind review. I wish you a wonderful 2020 and lots of great tours all over the world. ;o)

PATRICK STEVENS

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237365, Private Tour D-Day Beaches from Le Havre Omaha- Utah Beach American Cemetery & Memorial, Le Havre, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Aug 23/19

We enjoyed our day with Igor very much. He met us on time, shared with us his vast knowledge of D-Day focusing on Omaha and Utah beaches and the surrounding areas. We ended the day at the American Cemetery. Igor answered all of our questions and enlightened us with his knowledge. He made it all very real for us.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Mr Stevens, I really enjoyed the day with you and your lovely wife today. I wish you a great day tomorrow in Bayeux with William the Conqueror or the Mont St Michel.

JAIME POTYONDY

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #322588, Private Tour : D-Day Beaches from Le Havre US Sites, Le Havre, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Aug 20/19

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Ms Potyondy, It was a pleasure to be your guide last Tuesday, on the Normandy D-Day Beaches. Have a great end of summer

PAT REYBURN

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #400260, Impressionists Gardens and Rouen : Giverny House and Gardens and Rouen - from Le Havre - Crown Princess Pat Reyburn 7PAX, Le Havre, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Aug 4/19

Exceeded our espectations. We had Igor and a driver, so Igor was free to explain anything we asked. He knew to to get to the gardens first thing in the morning to avoid some of the crowds. His knowledge of France and all things tourism was great. He could discuss Norman history etc. Would highly recommend him. Pat

DOUGLAS HELMINK

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237498, Private Tour of the D-Day Beaches from Caen/ Bayeux, Caen, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Aug 2/19

RALPH FROHSIN

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237365, Private Tour D-Day Beaches from Le Havre Omaha- Utah Beach American Cemetery & Memorial, Le Havre, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Jul 15/19

Igor was extremely informative and offered a wonderful tour of Normandy. We highly recommend him.

STEVEN LANDHERR

 Madison, WISCONSIN, United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #268837, Private tour to the Mont St Michel from Rennes for up to 4 people, Rennes, France    view tour
DATE: Jul 4/19

Igor was waiting for us outside our hotel in Rennes when we came out. He came prepared with a tablet with videos about Mont Saint Michel, and happily shared his deep knowledge throughout the tour. We were traveling with a 9-year-old who has trouble maintaining attention. He made an effort to make the tour relevant to her, and wasn't upset when she wandered a bit.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Mr Landherr, It was a great time for me to be your guide that day from Rennes. I wish you a great summer. ;o)

DOUGLAS FRENCH

 Canada
RATING 
 

TOUR: Private Half-Day tour of Rouen, from Caen -- June 30th 2019 Douglas French 4PAX, Caen, Normandy, France
DATE: Jun 30/19

DOUGLAS FRENCH

 Canada
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237523, Private Tour of the Mont St Michel from Caen, Bayeux, Caen, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Jun 29/19

Friendly, punctual and knowledgeable guide. Really knows the Normandy region. Vehicle very clean and comfortable. Uses multimedia and documentation to add the his information. Attentive to our family's needs and was flexible during the tours.

STUART FARBER

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237365, Private Tour D-Day Beaches from Le Havre Omaha- Utah Beach American Cemetery & Memorial, Le Havre, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Jun 22/19

Igor was right on time. He was tremendously knowledgeable, with videos and many pictures from the invasion. He was courteous, funny and respectful. Paused many times for discussion. A long day went by very quickly. Recommend him highly.

SOL HAMBURG

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237523, Private Tour of the Mont St Michel from Caen, Bayeux, Caen, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Jun 16/19

We went with Igor to Mont St Michel - and I would recommend him without reservations! He has a broad fund of knowledge - not only about Mont St Michel and Normandy but also of cultural and general history of France. We enjoyed our tour immensely and would rate it and Igor 5/5 stars. Sol

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Mr Hamburg, It was a great day at the Mont St Michel with you and your friends. Next time, you'll get all the way up. ;o) Have a great time in France.

JACK M.

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237498, Private Tour of the D-Day Beaches from Caen/ Bayeux, Bayeux, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Jun 15/19

Our tour with Igor could not have been better. We started at Utah Beach and then saw the location where Lieutenant Richard Winters and his men destroyed the German guns that were aimed at the beach. Igor's knowledge was extraordinary, down to the names of many American GIs who died on D-Day. While driving he showed videos on his tablet of actual films of D-Day to footage from Saving Private Ryan and the Longest Day to bring the locations to life. We left our hotel at 8:30 and were back at 6. A great day!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Mr Ms Cowan for this very nice review. Have a great summer.

RONALD LEAF

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237559, Private Tour- Medieval Normandy - Bayeux Tapestry - Falaise Castle and Normandy Dukes - From Caen, Caen, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Jun 14/19

Our tour included the Falaise castle, the Bayeux Tapestry and the Caen castle. We also customized the tour with a visit to the birth village of our immigrant ancestor. Igor uses these sites to link together the story of William the Conqueror and his successors, and he provides many details about the events from the period. We enjoyed our time with Igor and would recommend him to anyone with an interest in the history of Normandie.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Mr Leaf for this very nice review. Have a great summer.

RONALD LEAF

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237498, Private Tour of the D-Day Beaches from Caen/ Bayeux, Bayeux, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Jun 13/19

Igor was well prepared and quite knowledgeable in the details of the invasion. He shared many details of stories about individual soldiers, which brings the battlefield and the cemetery to a personal level. He also showed us some memorials and battle locations away from the beaches that added to our understanding of the events.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Mr Leaf for this very nice review. Have a great summer.

KATRINA CHIANG

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237498, Private Tour of the D-Day Beaches from Caen/ Bayeux, Bayeux, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Jun 8/19

Our family really enjoyed the private tour hosted by Igor. He presented the D-Day history via video, valuable pictures and documentations that really inspired us. He also arranged great lunch and dinner for us which ends a perfect day at Bayeux.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Ms Chiang, It was a real pleasure to have you today on that tour. I wish a fantastic time in Paris and then Amsterdam.

DICKINSON FOWLER

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237523, Private Tour of the Mont St Michel from Caen, Bayeux June 7th Dickinson Fowler 4PAX, Caen, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Jun 7/19

We had a spectacular day with Igor visiting the American Cemetery at Brittany and Mont St. Michel. History comes alive when you are with Igor and he is full of fun and interesting facts. It was a wonderful day. I highly recommend Igor!

DICKINSON FOWLER

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237498, Private Tour of the D-Day Beaches from Caen/ Bayeux, Bayeux, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Jun 6/19

Igor is an amazing tour guide!! It was the 75th Anniversary of D-Day - all the roads were closed and we were afraid we would not get to see anything. Igor was undeterred and made sure we got to Omaha Beach, Lounges Sur Mer and the cliffs. He was a veritable goldmine of information and history. He truly made the day come alive. I highly recommend him.

ROBERTA HENSHAW

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237498, Private Tour of the D-Day Beaches from Caen/ Bayeux, Bayeux, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Jun 4/19

ROBERT LIVINGSTON

 Canada
RATING 
 

TOUR: #384314, Private Tour of the D-Day Beaches from a Canadian Perspective, Le Havre, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: May 22/19

We really enjoyed our tour of the Canadian D-Day Beaches tour by Igor. Igor was very well prepared with pictures and the history of the area. I had a list of our local soldiers who died in WW2 and Igor did an extensive search to see if any were buried in the Canadian cemetery we visited. I would highly recommend this tour!

SUSAN B.

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237498, 2 Day Tour of Normandy D-Day Beaches & Mt St Michel from Bayeux 2PAX Susan Ballati May 13 14th 2019, Bayeux, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: May 13/19

Igor R is an excellent guide. He is extremely knowledgeable and we learn in-depth about the region as we tour. He is also accommodating and friendly. Quite the professional. I highly recommend him. You won’t be disappointed

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Ms Ballati, It was a true pleasure to be you guide this week. I wish a great cruise in the Netherlands, and enjoy the cheese and Calvados !

RONALD BRANDE

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #322588, Private Tour : D-Day Beaches from Le Havre US Sites, Le Havre, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: May 12/19

Very informative

JOHN WINKELMAN

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #322588, Private Tour : D-Day Beaches from Le Havre US Sites, Le Havre, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: May 4/19

A cold and rainy day in Normandy, but our guide, Igor, was able to still make this a great Tour. He had an iPad filled with videos to help prepare us for the sites we were visiting, along with a binder of photos and articles we could review. He took us to a terrific lunch spot and was able to add-in the Bayeux Tapestry as well. His knowledge of the local area and the history is terrific. A very good Guide for visiting the important sites in Normandy.

DENNIS VIETS

 N Fort Myers, FL, United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237364, Private Tour of the D-day beaches from Cherbourg US Sites, Cherbourg, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: May 3/19

Everything you ever expected and more.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Mr Viets for this very nice review. I wish you a wonderful winter.

DOMINIKA WOJTASIK

 Poland
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237532, Private Tour of the Mont Saint Michel, & Cancale from Saint Malo Maj 2 2019 D. Wojtasik 3PAX No Transport, St-Malo, Brittany, France    view tour
DATE: May 2/19

Igor has been an exceptional guide with in depth knowledge of France, French culture and history and of Normandy as well . He delivered super interesting stories about Mt Saint Michel , San Malo and Cancale. Igor made our stay in Normandy a truly memorable experience . We recommend Igor as the best in class guide .

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Ms Wojtasik, It was a real pleasure to be your guide. Dopiero konczylem z grupa z Polsce I naprawde bardzo lubie prowadzic wycieczke dla polacy tez. Pozdrawiam.

TOURSBYLOCALS RESPONSE: ToursByLocals is committed to 5-Star tour experiences and we appreciate any learning opportunity to improve the quality of the service we offer our customers. We take all feedback seriously and have, as always, attempted to clarify with our customer if there was anything our guide, or ToursByLocals, could have done differently to have made this tour a 5-Star experience.

DONALD LAMPERT

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #268837, Private tour to the Mont St Michel from Rennes for up to 4 people, Rennes, France    view tour
DATE: May 1/19

Igor is an exceptional guide. As to be expected he is highly knowledgeable about the overall history of the area, but his basic commentary is enhanced with personal observations and anecdotes which add color to the traditional tour experience. He is also an extremely pleasant person to spend the day touring with.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Mr Lampert. I also had an exceptionnal day with you and your wife at the Mont Saint Michel and St Malo. Have a great time in Amboise. That's the place for lunch in Amboise : http://lepicerie-amboise.com/

KEN SCHWARTZ

 MARIETTA, GA, United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237364, Private Tour of the D-day beaches from Cherbourg US Sites, Cherbourg, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Apr 24/19

This was a really great tour. Igor is very knowledgeable about WWII, Normandy and the specifics about the sites we visited. He also has interesting graphs, charts and pictures to help explain what we have seen or are about to see. He has video's to again supplement the other information he has provided. The stop for lunch was another good choice as the food was good and the portions large. We will definitely tour with Igor the next time we are in Normandy.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank your very much Mr Schwartz for this very nice review. I wish you a great time for your amazing round the world trip. Best regards.

ANNE IERARDI

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #608965, Private Half-Day tour of Lisieux St Therèse of Lisieux, from Caen. April 23rd 2PAX Anne Ierardi, Caen, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Apr 23/19

Wonderful day with Igor to celebrate the life of St. Therese of Lisieux; he brought to all the key sites and on the way we listened to her story and music. He knows the town well as he lived most of his life nearby.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank your Ms Ierardi, This day was also very special to me as I definitely don't do this tour enough. I will try to do it more often. I also got the Natasha St Pier songs about Therese of Lisieux. ;o) I wish you a great time.

TERRY COYNE

 Durham, NORTH CAROLINA, United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #322588, Private Tour : D-Day Beaches from Le Havre US Sites, Le Havre, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Apr 18/19

I really enjoyed the tour of the Normandy beaches by Igor. He took us on an extensive tour and provided excellent commentary throughout our approximate 8-hour tour with him. He speaks excellent English and is very knowledgeable about the Normandy area.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Mr Coyne, It was a pleasure to have you on these two days. Have a great summer.

TERRY COYNE

 Durham, NORTH CAROLINA, United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #237532, Private Tour of the Mont Saint Michel, & Cancale from Saint Malo, St-Malo, Brittany, France    view tour
DATE: Apr 17/19

RICHARD STEVENS

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: Paris : from the Vikings to Napoleon III - March 29th 2019 2 PAX Richard Stevens, Paris, Île-de-France, France
DATE: Mar 29/19

My wife and I use ToursByLocals for two international vacations per year. We often use multiple tour guides in our travels. ToursByLocals always have great local flavored tourist service. Igor provided great guide service for our all day tour of Paris. He is very familiar with not only Paris history but with French history. We were very fortunate to tour Notre Dame with Igor the week before the fire. Stevens

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Mr Stevens for this kind review. Yes, I remember being in Notre Dame with you just a week before this tragedy. I am going again tonight, and Paris lost something really important. I wish a great summer.

MARJIE ZUCKER

 United States
RATING 
 

TOUR: #279360, Private Tour : D-Day Beaches from Paris, Bayeux, Normandy, France    view tour
DATE: Feb 17/19

Normandy Tour
D-Day- Mont Saint Michel - Foodie Tour April 13th to 15th 2019.

Igor,
It is Friday so you are once again in the middle of a tour.
I did a review on “Tours by Locals” and I think you will be pleased.  For your own website, how does the following sound:

We had Igor for three days and they were three great days.  Without Igor we would have been floundering on our own.  With Igor we saw everything, we learned new things, and he was always accommodating and friendly.  Igor goes “the extra mile” for his clients.  I would, and will, recommend Igor Rosen to anyone who would like a personalized, in-depth, Normandy travel experience.

With deep appreciation,
Susan M. Ballati, PhD


 

 

WINSTON AMIGO CHAN

 Philippines
 

DATE: Dec 28/18

Igor is a very mindful and attentive private guide on top of being knowledgeable,he met us at Paris CDG airprort and drove us to Bayeux,did a tour of D Day and Mont St.Michel,both are very enlightening as wel as exciting and very enjoyable,knows everything about where the good restaurants,foods,especially cheese as we were in the Normandy region which is famous for camembert cheese,he knows what wine is best for a meal,i would recommend him anytime.

 

 

 

ASHLEY FLINN

 

DATE: Dec 6/18

Igor was the best! We had such a great day with him. Igor is incredibly knowledgeable about the area and really helps tie everything together with stories and photos. Our day was made so much better by traveling with Igor, I can't recommend him enough!

JAMES ORR

 United States
  

DATE: Dec 3/18

Igor was wonderful for our day tour of Normandy ! His attention to all the history details, made all the difference in our day. Delightful!! He was So very helpful getting my husband around with all the Wheelchair stuff. Positive, energetic, and Just the best!! Would highly recommend him for the tour, as his understanding and sharing of the details of Normandy were excellent!!

JOSH BERNSTEIN

 United States
 

DATE: Nov 20/18

We just completed a full day tour of the Normandy beaches with Igor. It was fantastic! Igor is like a walking encyclopedia. His historic knowledge is truly impressive. He was able to make history come alive and keep our children captivated throughout the entire day. He managed to do this despite a cold and rainy day on the beaches. His flexibility and creativity are what you want in a guide. We would highly recommend Igor for future tours.

SHARON WYSOCKI

 Custer, WI, United States
 

DATE: Oct 30/18

Igor was an excellent guide for our travels of France. We were able to see the sights of Paris that interested us and also to wander the countryside visiting Giverny and Monet's garden, Rouen, Honfeur, and Mont Saint Michel's Abbey in Normandy. Closer to Paris we visited the Palace of Versailles and the Chateau de Vaux Le Vicomte. Igor drove us to these sites, giving us personal guided tours, allowing us to spend the time and ask questions we wanted. He tailored site info to our curiosity.

JUDY GARCIA

 United States
 

DATE: Oct 27/18

Igor was everything you want tour guide to be friendly, knowledgeable , organized. He made the tour personal with all the stories of the soldiers and their families. He is very passionate about his job and it shows through every fact and story he tells. Great Job Igor ! Thank you By the way he is also a food enthusiast!

 

JOYCE S.

 Canada
 

DATE: Oct 26/18

Can't thank Igor enough for the work he did to organize a highly personalized tour. His interest and knowledge of history and the environs of Caen made for a full day tour worth every penny we paid, and more.

VINCE MASUCCI

 United States
 

DATE: Oct 22/18

Igor was engaging, completely knowledgeable, adapted the tour to our interests on the spot. Cannot day enough good things about him and the tour. Terrific!

ORVA SCHRAMM

 Laguna Hills, CA, United States

 

DATE: Sep 29/18

Igor provided a wealth of information. We learned about current culture, agriculture, local economy, en route to the DDay Beaches. The information he provided and time he allowed at each of the stops was well planned. His knowledge of WW II is commendable and the reverence he displays toward all of these historic sights is heartfelt. The experience was one we will long remember thanks to our day with Igor.

LIANE STERNLIEB

 United States
 

DATE: Sep 25/18

Igor was a superb guide in Normandy. He was extremely prepared and shared an enormous amount of history with us during our drive and at the locations. He was pleasant to work with and was friendly and professional. We truly enjoyed our day with Igor.

 

MARK JENSEN

 United States
 

DATE: Sep 23/18

Igor provided my wife and I with an once-in-a-lifetime fantastic tour or Medieval Normandy. His grasp of the history of the region is impressive, and he answered all of my questions, including many on the era of William the Conquer and the first Normans/Vikings. I highly recommend this tour.

CLAUDIA ROSSI

 United States
 

DATE: Sep 15/18

High praise for Igor... We recently took a tour of Mont St Michel with Igor and I would highly recommend him as a tour guide. His knowledge of the history, architecture, topography, and even sea currents was extensive and it heightened the appreciation of this world famous site for us. Igor was thoroughly prepared (even bringing maps, charts and diagrams). He was engaging and humorous and we thoroughly enjoyed the hours we spent with him. He was fantastic and made the day especially memorable for us.

 

WILLIAM KROUSS

 United States
 

DATE: Sep 14/18

A very informative tour. Igor was very knowledgeable and congenial.

 

WILLIAM KROUSS

 United States
 

DATE: Sep 13/18

We really enjoyed the day with Igor. He arrived promptly, transported us in comfort, and was very pleasant and well informed. The tour was very good and covered a number of interesting and emotional sites.

 

KATHRYN C.

 United States
 

DATE: Sep 8/18

Igor did a wonderful job covering the highlights of the Normandy beaches. He was very knowledgeable and charming. Due to time, he brought us sandwiches and Normandy cider, and we ate by Utah beach. He also helped me find my distant cousin's grave in the American cemetery. I have no reservations about recommending this tour.

 

KATIE GRUBBS

 United States
 

DATE: Sep 6/18

Igor was wonderful! He is incredibly knowledgeable about the sites and occurrences of D-Day. We learned so much and had such a wonderful day on his tour. He accommodated our preferences and was truly a pleasure to be around. Our day with him was our favorite part of our trip; truly a once in a lifetime experience. I highly recommend a tour with Igor; you will not be disappointed.

VINCENT FABRIZZI

 United States
 

DATE: Sep 2/18

I'm so glad we chose Igor as our Normandy guide. He was prompt, pleasant and incredibly knowledgeable about the history of the Allied landings and all of the sites. Besides being a great guy with a good sense of humor, he made our tour fun and not just a history lesson. He was totally flexible and was happy to make changes to his itinerary based on our interest. To make the tour even more entertaining, he played videos of the historical sites while traveling to them. Igor's tour was awesome.

JAMES ACHENBACH

 United States
 

DATE: Aug 28/18

I wish that I could give 10 stars for this tour. Igor is an amazing tour guide! He has a degree in history and was able to share so many wonderful insights to the area. He was so flexible to our schedule and our wishes. We really enjoyed spending our day in Normandy with him. If you are able to book him then you have scored a major treasure! Thanks for a great day!

 

JAVIER INIESTA

 Spain
 

DATE: Aug 21/18

Excelente TOUR realizado por IGOR por la zona del desembarco de Normandía. Gran conocimiento de la materia, nos dió mucha y buena información. Totalmente recomendable. Muy buen nivel de español. Javier

 

KELLY BLANKENHAGEN

 United States
 

DATE: Aug 18/18

Igor was on time, flexible, informative, and patient with my crazy kids. He had great materials and resources and definitely knew a lot of good info. His suggestions were on point. I would definitely recommend his tour to others. The vehicle provided was large and comfy, even had water and M&Ms. Lunch was delicious and all of our locations were good. I liked that he was a local and knew so much about the area.

JULIE LARSEN

 United States
 

DATE: Aug 6/18

My husband and older teen, young adult kids spent the entire day with Igor. He picked us up in Cherbourg and we ended our day in Bayeux, France. He was informative and passionate about the tour! He timed our arrival at different sights to ensure we caught special aspects of each place, such as the lowering of the Flags at the USA memorial cemetery. I would highly recommend him! He also has a nice, safe vehicle and excellent driving skills. I don't know how we would have fit it all in w/o him! Merci!

NATHAN HAUG

 United States
 

DATE: Jul 28/18

Igor was well prepared and very knowledgeable. We learned much about the Normandy beaches and DDay that we didn't know before. We would highly recommend Igor again.

JULIE BERRY

 United States
 

DATE: Jul 27/18

Igor was the best. He sent me great suggestions about getting to Normandy Area and where to stay before the trip. Because we arrived in Bayeux the night before he picked us up early and we had a full day to do the tour including the Sainte Mere Eglise and the Overlord Museum. Every question we asked he knew the answer and we were amazed about all the details he keeps in his head. His vehicle is very comfy for the drive and he had water and treats. He also told lots of stories of real soldiers.

LAURA G.

 United States
 

DATE: Jul 20/18

My 18 year old son and I booked a private tour of the D-day beaches. Igor picked us up at the Bayeux train station. We left our hotel in Paris so early, we did not have time for breakfast. Igor immediately showed us to a café where we had a quick bite to eat and discussed the plans for the day. The day was fantastic! Igor is extremely knowledgeable about the area and truly has a passion for telling the stories of the men that fought in WWII. Igor is the way to see Normandy!

CHARLES LAVARINI

 United States
 

DATE: Jul 14/18

Igor is fabulous, we had a great day, he covered everything we wanted to see in just enough details to keep our interest.

 

ROSE C.

 United States
 

DATE: Jul 12/18

Our group of 7 thoroughly enjoyed our Normandy tour with Igor. He is very knowledgeable and provided a wealth of information about the sites we visited with professionalism and humor, keeping our entire group - including two US Marine Corps veterans - engaged. The van was comfortable, and despite a few dawdlers, Igor kept us on schedule. Both restaurants we ate at were wonderful as well. We had a great day with Igor, and I highly recommend booking your Normandy tour with him!

 

JEANNE GREGOR

 United States
 

DATE: Jul 11/18

Excellent tour guide, knew his history and made the tour very special

 

PAUL WALK

 United States
 

DATE: Jul 6/18

It is hard to put into words how Spectacular Igor was as a guide. Complete command of the subject with more than enough time and patience to answer our numerous questions. Also a delight to Dine with as we had a great Lunch near Utah Beach. He had pity on my totally incompetent attempt to eat Mussels properly and taught me how to use one of the Mussels as a Utensil. Had great Videos in the car to educate us before we hit the destination we were approaching next. Very emotional Tour.

 

SUSAN FARRIS

 United States
 

DATE: Jun 25/18

Igor was knowledgeable, flexible, patient, and fun! He did a lot of driving to help us see the things we wanted to see, and added some fun surprises. He provided snacks and water, and went out of his way to accommodate us. We learned a lot and had four nice days with Igor. We would highly recommend him.

 

EILEEN BECKLEY

 United States
 

DATE: Jun 6/18

I would give Igor 10 stars if I could. I have taken a lot of private tours and Igor far far far surpassed every other guide. He safely drives a comfortable vehicle while playing music of the location/period or videos pertinent to what we are seeing. He has tremendous knowledge and delivers it with an easy style. He is organized with visual aids, both hard copy and digital, on the area/topic of study. He went above and beyond purchasing tickets for us for a tour we were taking on our way back to Paris.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

June 5th D-Day Beaches from Le Havre  Mont Saint Michel and Brittany American Cemetery

Dear Igor, Thank you for making our visit to my Father’s gravesite in Brittany a very special one.  We enjoyed meeting you and wanted you to know that June 5th will always hold a special place in our hearts.  Placing my mother’s ashes around his cross/headstone fulfilled all my wishes for them to be together again after 74 years.  We wish you well.

Sincerely, 
Phyllis Norris Valadie (daughter of PFC Felix J. Norris)


 

 

 

April 24th 2018 D-Day Beaches from Le Havre

Hi Igor,
Four of us had a wonderful day with you on April 24th.  Thanks! Betsy Knott


 

An

 

drea Altholz

Date : September 23rd 2017

 

Andrea and I want to reiterate what a memorable and informative day we spent with you. we will certainly refer you when possible. (...)....

 

Thanks again for a day of indelible experiences. Ted

 

 

Lawrence Wzorek

DATE: Oct 6, 2017

Igor Rosen was a terrific guide for our Normandy tour, and in particular, the Normandy American Cemetery, where we visited my wife's uncle's grave and received special attention from the Cemetery staff. Igor is extremely knowledgeable about the Normandy area, the beaches where the battles occurred and events surrounding D-Day. He was well prepared with information about our relatives who fought and died in France, including pictures and diagrams which made the tour all the more meaningful.

 

 

 

 

Dear Igor,
We just wanted to say thank you so much for making our amazing vacation even better! You are an excellent tour guide and a pleasure to be with. We appreciate your kindness in taking the time to help us with our train tickets and calling to check and make sure we made it to Rouen. You are the best! Please, if you ever want to come to our part of North Carolina know that you are always welcome at our home! Thank you again for everything.
Au revoir mi Ami!
Sonya and CJ

 

September 6th- 7th & 8th 2017

 

 

 

Tours By Locals Reviews

 

 

 

Our six-person group (ages 9 to 70+) had a great tour with Igor. He was insightful, very knowledgeable, and clearly has a love for the subject matter. He also did a terrific job tailoring the tour to our family and working within our time constraints. He is a true local -- his family has been in Normandy for decades -- which comes through in his tour and adds another dimension to the experience. It was exactly what we wanted, down to his help getting us on the right train back to Paris. A+. 
MARK STANCIL August 2017

 

 

PHYLLIS MILLER

 DATE: Aug 14/17

Igor was most informative regarding our D-Day beaches tour. He was well informed, approachable in terms of questions that we had, and had a genuine interest in his subject matter.

 

GLORIA SCHNEIDER

 

DATE: Aug 2/17

We had a great day with Igor touring Mont St Michel and Saint Malo. Igor was knowledgeable about each location and its vast and rich history, he was attentive to our needs and very flexible. We saw things we never would have seen on our own or with a typical group tour.

 

 

ANDREW REES

DATE: Jul 28/17

 Igor was a pleasure to travel with he was very knowledgeable about the D Day invasion and sites. He was very well prepared with interesting stories and pictures that really brought the experience to life. He was also able to adjust and tailor the day to the member of party. I would highly recommend Igor

 

 

 

 

DAVID ARIZINI

DATE: Jul 22/17

We had a spectacular day visiting Giverny with Igor. He was extremely knowledgeable and able to share many details of Monet, his history, inspiration and art. He was especially good at fielding the many questions from my 3 children. Giverny was a beautiful place, after visiting I have a more profound understanding of Monet's work. I highly recommend Igor as a tour guide for Giverny!!

THERESA SHEFFIELD

DATE: Jul 14/17

The tour was emotional and appropriate. Igor was very attentive... from my parents to my grandchildren... he accommodated everyone.

ANN POTTER

DATE: Jun 29/17

Outstanding experience. Igor has done extensive research and has an amazing collection of photos, old video clips and maps. He even had recorded music from that era which played in the background as we traveled. It was very important for my husband to visit this site and Igor made it a memorable experience. We would highly recommend Igor for a meaningful, personalized tour.

MICHAEL DONAT

DATE: Jun 19/17

Igor was absolutely wonderful. He met us right on time at Caen's train station with coffee and treats. We had a packed itinerary but he kept us right on schedule and even included a couple of additional sites. He was excellent with my talkative 11 yr old and my grumpy teenage daughter. He kept them engaged and interested. His passionate enthusiasm for the Normandy region and specifically the history of D-day is infectious. Definitely would love to tour with Igor again!

 

JANET ADKINS

DATE: Jun 1/17

Igor was fantastic. He provided interesting details that made the trip even more special. I would definitely recommend Igor to anyone who is visiting Normandy. I cannot imagine anyone could do a better job than Igor.

 

DALE ISLEY

DATE: May 17/17

Igor provided a great tour of Mont St. Michel and, at our request, a side trip to Saint-Malo. He Is extremely knowledgeable and communicates the history of these sites very thoroughly. His suggestion that we be transported from the Mont St. Michel parking lot to the site by horse drawn wagon was great. Igor made our visit to both these sites very memorable. We highly recommend him for this tour.

 

WILLIAM LEONARD

DATE: May 14/17

Igor, was great! very knowable, used several types of media, keep everything moving, not a dull moment. If you want to learn and see Normandy close up, Igor is the man! Would recommend him to anyone.

 

JUDITH HIBMA

DATE: May 10/17

We would rate our tour guide, Igor Rosen, a 5 out of 5, and recommend him highly. Igor met us at the train station in Caen, France for two days of touring. Day 1 he drove us around Normond—beautiful country! We saw cheese making, ate lunch at a beautiful hotel/restaurant, went to a cider distillery and drove to the coast where we walked through an open air fish market.

............ and many, many  more from March 2017 to May 2017

Igor, 
Thank you again for a fantastic tour today. We enjoyed it greatly. Have a blessed 2017! 
The Lose family Dec. 26th 2016

 

Excellent tour, My guide Igor Rosen was very accommodating and able to fit in as many sites as we could given the short December day. He had in-depth knowledge, photos, maps, videos, and painted the picture of D-Day from the allied perspective as well as the Germans.
Peter Miller Dec. 6th 2016

 

Our tour of Bayeux and the Normandy beach sites was fabulous! Igor took the time to explain little known facts and his interest in the history was evident. We thoroughly enjoyed our day with him and would definitely use this service again!

Elizabeth Lumpkin  Nov. 11th 2016

 

 

The trip was wonderful. Jerome is an excellent driver and a very nice man. Sandy was an excellent tour guide and a wonderful person. We enjoyed the day very much. Thank you.

Nancy Masuelli Mont St Michel Tour Oct 26th 

 

 

I wanted to thank you again for tailoring my tour so perfectly. It will transform my story for the better in every way. 

I took your advice and bought the cookbook at the Tapestry shop--fabulous source material as well! I further took your advice and explored the crypt at the cathedral--it is pure perfection for the scene of Harold being compelled to swear upon relics! Many more thanks for that!
(...)
My other short-term writing plans include posting a a glowing review of your guidance services on Trip Advisor, which is how I found you. (...

(...)

Meg Eilidh Greene  0ctober 19th 2016

 

We really enjoyed touring St. Malo and Dinan with Igor. He is a great guide-very personable and knowledgeable about the area and its history. His English is excellent. He was flexible in putting together an itinerary that met our interests. We would highly recommend him as a guide.

 

We really enjoyed our tours with Igor R. He is very knowledgeable, pleasant and accommodating. We learned a lot about the history of Mont St. Michele and sampled some great food. We would highly recommend him as a guide.

Nancy Morisson Sep 20 & 21, 2016

 

Igor was well knowledged and informative.

 Sep 22, 2016  

 

Outstandingly! This is our third Toursbylocals guide. They have all been excellent, but Igor was exceptional, the very essence of what a LOCAL guide should be. He was truly a font of knowledge.

Larry Marsh  Sep 10, 2016

 

Wonderful! We loved our day at Mont St Michel!

Larry Marsh  Sep 11, 2016

 

 Igor is very knowledgeable, interesting and attentive; he arrived promptly at the cruise terminal.

He added a few perks to the tour such as fresh croissants and had us taste some cider and cheeses.

Carolyn Green - 

Sep 4, 2016

 

 
   

We very much enjoyed our tour with Igor and thought he was excellent. It was a very memorable experience.

Mark Thatcher July 26th 2016

 

 

This was the highlight of our time in England and France. Igor, our tour guide, was a storehouse of knowledge about WW II. We only had time for the one-day tour. Igor picked us up at our hotel and managed to fit in a comprehensive tour in one day. We ended the day at the Normandy cemetery. I hope we can return one day and that Igor can once again show us even more.

https://www.viator.com/tours/Normandy/Private-Tour-D-Day-Beaches-from-Paris-Price/d183-17417P16

Sybil C July 2016

 

 

Igor was knowledgeable and very flexible. He was able to adjust the tour based on the fact we had been in Normandy for two days and had seen many of the sites.

 Jun 6, 2016  Private D-Day Tour from   Caen, Ms Linda Butts

 

https://www.toursbylocals.com/TBL/WebObjects/ToursByLocals.woa/1/wo/Avl3o7uoEnFkUSzb6VY5Mw/8.27.7.3.13.1.1.1.3.1

 

 

 

 

Igor was fun, professional, extremely knowledgeable, flexible, and well prepared. We went round trip from La Havre, Honfleur, Aromonches, WWII Radar and Bunker Museum, D-Day Invasion Memorial, Museum, Video, American Cemetery, and back to cruise terminal all in 9.5 hours, including lunch on the water. This was the best (also moving and enlightening) tour of 10 we took on a cruise around the British Isles. Not to be missed if you are anywhere near Normandy. Thank you Igor for a wonderful experience! 

Steven Seligman Private D-Day Tour from Le Havre Offshore July 7th

 

 He was extremely receptive to planning a Normandy itinerary off the beaten track. We really appreciated his energy and flexibility to follow the last days before the Germans retreated from Normandy at the end of August 1944 . He has a fine small van and was an excellent driver. His more typical itinerary in Normandy is also excellent.

 

  May 17, 2016   Private Tour D-Day Beaches from Honfleur  Ellen Boer

 

Robert C Private Tour D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

 


 


 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
Viator- Trip Advisor Affiliate Viator- Trip Advisor Affiliate

 

 

00 33 650 17 63 44

rosenigor@normandytour.fr

 

 

 

 

 

Version imprimable Version imprimable | Plan du site
© Normandy Tour 2016-2020 - All rights Reserved NormandyTour BVI rosenigor@gmail.com 033 6 50 17 63 44